Rep. Mirra Announces 2019-2020 Committee Assignments


CONTACT: Beverly Stables, 617-722-2803

BOSTON – House Minority Leader Bradley H. Jones, Jr. (R-North Reading) has appointed State Representative Lenny Mirra (R-West Newbury) to three key legislative committees for the 2019-2020 session.

Mirra has been named as the Ranking Minority Member for both the Joint Committee on Community Development and Small Businesses and the Joint Committee on Telecommunications, Utilities and Energy.  He has served on both committees since 2013.

The Community Development and Small Businesses Committee is responsible for reviewing legislation relative to urban renewal, commercial trade and commerce, the establishment of economic districts and local planning commissions, and other related issues.  The Telecommunications, Utilities and Energy Committee is charged with studying legislation pertaining to public utilities, energy development, wind farms, the siting of energy facilities, and other related matters.

“My experience in the construction industry involved the installation and repair of underground utilities which will be helpful as we will be addressing the issues of repairing natural gas leaks and improving safety while working on this infrastructure.”

Mirra has also been re-appointed to the Joint Committee on Health Care Financing, where he will help to evaluate legislation that would fiscally impact the state’s health care programs, including Medicaid, MassHealth, and the Uncompensated Care Pool.  He has been a member of this committee since 2017.

“Lenny has done an exemplary job serving the residents of the Second Essex District, and I am confident he will continue to play an important role in vetting the many legislative proposals that will make their way through the committee process over the next two years,” said Representative Jones.

Mirra’s district is comprised of the communities of Georgetown, Groveland, Merrimac, Newbury, and West Newbury, as well Precincts 2 and 3 in Boxford, and Ward 4, Precinct 3, and Ward 7, Precinct 3 in Haverhill.